Troubleshooting bouncy edges

Discussions about the use of Realflow in Cinema 4D
lutoluto
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 6:54 pm

Troubleshooting bouncy edges

Postby lutoluto » Fri Nov 02, 2018 7:24 pm

hi there,

huge problem, trying to sind a solution for 3 weeks now.
I want to fill a large objects with rooms and pipes in between. when my large object ist filled and the water level goes up everything is okay, until the water goes further and slower because some pipes are smaller. so i guess the pressure from the new water causes the bigger "room" to get under pressure so i get these bouny edges and if i change some parameters sometimes it explodes out of the edges. any idea how to fill a rooms and pipes while keeping the more pressure rooms calm?

example attached. I really would appreciate some help, since I am totally lost now.

starts good: https://imgur.com/TGH8o1X
then this happens: https://imgur.com/XWZgmpX
sometimes this: https://imgur.com/1vOKBQM


User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3400
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH
Contact:

Re: Troubleshooting bouncy edges

Postby ChristianZ » Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:53 am

Hi

instead of bouncy edges I would call this leaking volumes? I assume there are particles escaping the objects. If so, there are the quality settings in the RealFlow volume settings. Have you turned off "auto" and adapted them already? For example decrease Cell size and check for the setting of Solid inside/outside. Changing the substeps of the solver could be another option.
RF10 standard + RFC4D

lutoluto
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 6:54 pm

Re: Troubleshooting bouncy edges

Postby lutoluto » Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:12 pm

Hi Christian,
thank you for your help.
yes with your emtnioned settings it is not leaking anymore.Got that. but still after a lot particles within a room it got super bouncy at the edges. gets a lot better changing the liquid. but still not perfect. so far big help, thanks.
may sound super stupid, but where do I find the substeps? this could be the last thing I forgot.

BIG THANKS, HUGE HUG

User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3400
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH
Contact:

Re: Troubleshooting bouncy edges

Postby ChristianZ » Sat Nov 03, 2018 3:39 pm

You are welcome, I am glad to help.
The substeps when you turn off the automatic parameters in the solver at the very top of the RFC4D tree:
http://support.nextlimit.com/display/RF ... %3A+Solver
If this does not help enough you could introduce several k"k volume" daemons in the scene to capture escaping particles.
RF10 standard + RFC4D

lutoluto
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 6:54 pm

Re: Troubleshooting bouncy edges

Postby lutoluto » Mon Nov 05, 2018 6:17 pm

thats it! had to change liquid, change some settings as you said and catching some small ninja particles with k daemons. thank you so much!

lutoluto
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 6:54 pm

Re: Troubleshooting bouncy edges

Postby lutoluto » Tue Nov 06, 2018 5:11 pm

ChristianZ wrote:You are welcome, I am glad to help.
The substeps when you turn off the automatic parameters in the solver at the very top of the RFC4D tree:
http://support.nextlimit.com/display/RF ... %3A+Solver
If this does not help enough you could introduce several k"k volume" daemons in the scene to capture escaping particles.



hey one thing, although I changed collision distance and so on, what is causing this: Image
It perfectly connects to all "walls" but when it is in his starter box it has a huge gap to the border of the box oO

lutoluto
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 6:54 pm

Re: Troubleshooting bouncy edges

Postby lutoluto » Tue Nov 06, 2018 6:59 pm


User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3400
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH
Contact:

Re: Troubleshooting bouncy edges

Postby ChristianZ » Wed Nov 07, 2018 5:23 pm

Hard to tell.... maybe some settings vary between the objects, or one of the objects has modeling flaws such as holes (collision volumes should be closed/watertight)?
You can visualize the real voxe-shape of the collision volumes with this option "Show Collision Geometry" and then look at the highest quality in the volume setting (need to go back to the first frame of the timeline in order to see it in C4D) http://support.nextlimit.com/display/RF ... 3A+Display
RF10 standard + RFC4D

lutoluto
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 6:54 pm

Re: Troubleshooting bouncy edges

Postby lutoluto » Mon Nov 12, 2018 5:39 pm

yeah you are right, I had to mannually change the size of the cells because my modeling sucks :D now i ve seen it all. thank you soooo so much!


Return to “Cinema 4D”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest